The Search For the Perfect Cheesesteak Is Over

Derrick McQueen
2 min readJun 11, 2022

Kindly see Part One of this journey here https://medium.com/coffee-times/searching-for-the-perfect-cheese-steak-or-hoagie-8ad037696a7

Derrick McQueen

By the grace of God, my wife and I made it back home safe and sound. Graduation success. The Philadelphia Museum of Arts steps jogged, not ran, and cheesesteaks were consumed. I met my wife’s close friends and family, whom she hadn’t seen in 6 years. They reconnected. It was great.

Who has the best Cheesesteak in Philly?

My vote is in for the tastiest Cheesesteak in the city of Brotherly Love. I visited Lee’s, Ishkabibble’s, and Pagano’s. The tastiest cheesesteak in Philly is Ishkabibble’s. I couldn’t put it down. That sandwich was devoured in under 15 minutes. Then I washed it down with a cold gremlin on a hot day: half grape and half lemonade. Heaven.

Derrick McQueen

The Vibe

Each restaurant had an authentic vibe, and the people running were gracious. The richness of each establishment burst through like sunrays on a cloudy day, from the pictures on the wall to the customers, to how they put love into each sandwich. It felt like each sandwich was…

--

--

Derrick McQueen

Believer~Husband to Kali~Father to Imani~ Writer. Author ~ Christian Dating Advice for Men on Amazon. Visit me at my internet home — DerrickMcQueen.co